Daily Archives: February 16, 2008

You’re my heart…

And I can’t live without my heart. I remember seeing the movie Blow right when it came out in theatres. I absolutely love it. For one, it has Johnny Depp, two it’s a true story and three it shows how drugs can ruin your life. Johnny (we’re on a first name basis =P) is the main character and basically ruins his life because of drugs. He wants to change though for his daughter Kristina. He told her “You’re my heart and I can’t live without my heart.” I feel that way about my husband. He is an amazing man and is wicked sexy too. hehe!

His 5.5 years with the Army, weren’t easy on him, I and our relationship. He was gone about 4.5 of the 5.5 years he was in the Army. He was always training, in Iraq, training some more and again in Iraq. He spent close to 3 years in Iraq. I told him that I couldn’t live without him, because he is my heart. I know people think, “Yes you can. One person can’t cause the death of another by leaving or dying.” But the love I feel for him is indescribable. My mom says that our bond and love is much more stonger than others because of what we have experienced and dealt with. I remember hearing about the passing of June Carter (Johnny Cash’s wife), 3 months later he died. They say it was because of a broken heart. I believe that 110%.

It wasn’t easy, but I would NOT change it for the world. He is my heart and I can’t love without my heart.

I found a lemon pound cake recipe that Helen made and she said it was the best she has ever had. I just substitued the lemon with orange. It was AMAZING.

Enjoy,
-M

Ultimate Pound Cake, adapted from Lori Longbotham:

2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature
1 3/4 cups sugar
6 large eggs
1 cup milk
1 1/2 TB orange zest
1 tsp. pure orange extract

Preheat oven to 300F. Butter and flour a 12 cup Bundt pan.

Sift the flour, baking owder and salt together twice.
Cream the butter and 1 3/4 cups sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Reduce the speed and add the flour mixture, alternating with the milk, beginning and ending with the flou. Stir in the lemon zest and lemon extract.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 1 1/2 hours, or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for 15 minutes. Poke holes all over the cake with a wooden skewer

4 Comments

Filed under dessert, fruit, orange, pound cake